I survived

October 17, 2006 at 12:51 am 1 comment

The visit is over.  I survived.  And it was painless.  Actually fun.  My mom was at my house for about 10 days and I had a really great time.  But more than anything she had a blast and she didn’t want to leave.  She had not been on a vacation in 15 years and her life isn’t so great in TN so needless to say she wanted to stay on and on.  The first day she got here, she saw a For Rent sign on a house and actually called to inquire about it.  Then, she went to the pier and discussed with a fisherman how much money she could make here doing the job she does in TN.  Everyday there was mention of moving and/or retiring here.  I took none of this seriously but did jokingly say “I really like having my own state”.  I did agree to her moving here if and only if she met a very wealthy man that lived in Beverly Hills, oh and he has to have a pool and a private plane so she could go back to TN often. 

I took her to the theater and she really liked it, she had never been to a play before.  She met many of my friends and discovered that I am a nice and likable person who surrounds myself with quality people.  She realized that I am generous, thoughtful, and giving.  Because I haven’t given a lot of my time or myself to her over the years, I think she thought that I was  mean and selfish.  She told me while she was here, “You’re a good, sweet person”  I had never heard those words from her before.  She complimented me every day on something!!  We talked  a lot.  She used to try and make me feel guilty about living so far away from my family.  Now that she has been here, I don’t think that will ever happen again.  Right before I moved, she said “I will probably never be able to visit you”, now she is planning to come back next year.  So all and all the trip was a huge success, not only because we got to know each other but because she got out of her little town and her less than content life. And before she left she said, “I have gotten used to being with you and talking to you so now I am really going to miss you much more than I did before.  We will have to talk on the phone a couple times a week”.  And the weird thing is, I will miss her too and we probably will talk more.

Entry filed under: family.

introducing myself to my mother Experience

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. K to the H  |  October 17, 2006 at 2:56 pm

    That just made me cry a little. But, in a good way!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,486 hits