Archive for October 3, 2006

new technology

I haven’t been writing as regularly and I have two things to blame it on.  The new fall television season and I just got a digital video recorder.  I think I was almost the only person in America without this amazing device until last weekend.  I have always been one of the first people to try out new technology until recent years when I have been on a strict budget.  I don’t have the newest cell phone, no blackberry, no palm pilot, or gps although I have always had the latest computers.  Most of my friends got Tivo or a DVR a while back but I was still using a VCR if I needed to record something.  One of my friends advised me that acquiring a DVR would in fact “ruin your life”, she claimed that I would never leave my house on the weekends and would watch every new show that comes on TV.  Well, I have to admit that I have been watching a lot of TV but I still manage to do a daily workout, maintain a healthy social life, and I get out of the house on a regular basis. So, it has not ruined my life in any way except for the fact that I think about it when I am away from home.  I get pleasure in thinking about all of the stuff I have recorded that I can watch whenever I want.  This is kind of disturbing to some of you but I have never denied my love and addiction for television.  I have even chosen it for my career.   And it’s not just TV, it’s movies also.  I watch several movies per week.  I have been a member of Netflix for 5 years now. 

Perhaps I love love TV so much because my sister and I were latchkey children that were not allowed to play outside when we were home alone.  That left watching TV and reading and I overindulged in both.  There have been periods of my life in which I watched no TV at all but that was mostly during college when I only had time for class, work, and drinking.  And then as I got older and stopped drinking daily, I got back to my old habits of watching TV regularly.  I am hoping that soon, the newness of the DVR will wear off and I can get back to my normal routine of writing a least a few times a week. 

October 3, 2006 at 5:59 pm 1 comment


October 2006
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,486 hits