Archive for October 4, 2006

introducing myself to my mother

Many people do not have good relationships with their parents. I am sure that everyone feels like a stranger to their mother at some moment in their life. My relationship with my mother has been much less than perfect for most of my life now. We have rarely been close and have sometimes went months without even talking to each other. She knows few of my friends and is clueless about what to get me for birthdays if anything. When I was in college, she didn’t know my major, what classes I was taking, or even what year I was in. There were times that she didn’t know my phone number and probably never knew how to get to my house or apartment without calling ahead first for directions. This has been the case since I moved out at age 18. I have not spent more than one day (usually only a few hours) with this woman in probably 16 years and I can’t recall more than once or twice that we have slept under the same roof in as much time. Now that I have moved to CA, we talk a little more frequently and tomorrow she is coming to stay with me for 8 days. I will be working during the day for the bulk of that time so it’s not like I’m spending all of that time with her but…..8 days. Now, I’m very excited, don’t get me wrong. I love visitors in general. The inner tour guide in me loves to show people the town. There is a lot to see here in LA and I have so much planned. I don’t really know what she likes to do so I just planned a bunch of things that I like in the hopes that she will enjoy herself while she’s here. The other thing I’m excited about is maybe she’ll get to know me a little bit. It is so weird to me that this person gave me life and I am virtually a stranger to her. I am not saying that’s all her fault, I have never really had the desire to be close to her. We are just so different!!! This week, she is going to see where I work, meet a lot of my friends, go to the theater, and just see inside my life a bit. Then she can decide if she likes me or not. haha

October 4, 2006 at 4:41 am Leave a comment


October 2006
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,486 hits