My mom was a car thief.

August 13, 2008 at 10:42 pm 1 comment

I have decided that I really need to write more about my mom since her life has been so interesting and living with her for 17 years, so was mine.

One of my earliest memories are of going to work with her.  She had an office with a kitchen and a break room for my sister and I to hang out and watch tv in, play games, etc.  We also liked playing outside with the guard dog and in all the empty cars, my favorite of which was an ice-cream truck.  What fun we had running around, pretending to drive, even finding treasures inside.  Some of the best and scariest times were riding in the tow truck, always late at night with Mom driving and Pete on the passenger side, my sister and I squished in between.  We would hide out until the coast was clear and Mom would back up the tow truck, Pete would hook a car up to it and then we’d take off sometimes with angry people screaming and running after us.  I always felt really bad for the people whose cars we were taking.  At that time, if you would have asked me where my mom worked I would have said “she steals cars” and to me that is exactly what we were doing because “repossession” is not a term commonly found in the vocabulary of a 5-year old.  I don’t remember a lot of specific events besides the “car thievery”, those experiences kind of overshadow the rest.  My sister did bust her eye open there and still has a scar to this day and i got a bad electrical shock but that all fails to compare to those exciting nights in the tow truck.  Now that I think back on it, I feel really bad for that ice-cream man. He can’t work without a truck.

Here is a link to an old post about my adventures while visiting my step-father in jail.

https://getitoutbeforeitsgone.wordpress.com/2006/11/20/top-things-for-kids-to-do-while-visiting-their-stepfather-in-jail/

Entry filed under: family.

beginning again Me and Mickey Spillane

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. K. Jayne Cockrill  |  August 13, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Wow, what an interesting childhood you had. I’d think you’d have a built-in audience with the adventure you could fill your pages with.

    KJ
    http://nanadiaries.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,486 hits