new technology

October 3, 2006 at 5:59 pm 1 comment

I haven’t been writing as regularly and I have two things to blame it on.  The new fall television season and I just got a digital video recorder.  I think I was almost the only person in America without this amazing device until last weekend.  I have always been one of the first people to try out new technology until recent years when I have been on a strict budget.  I don’t have the newest cell phone, no blackberry, no palm pilot, or gps although I have always had the latest computers.  Most of my friends got Tivo or a DVR a while back but I was still using a VCR if I needed to record something.  One of my friends advised me that acquiring a DVR would in fact “ruin your life”, she claimed that I would never leave my house on the weekends and would watch every new show that comes on TV.  Well, I have to admit that I have been watching a lot of TV but I still manage to do a daily workout, maintain a healthy social life, and I get out of the house on a regular basis. So, it has not ruined my life in any way except for the fact that I think about it when I am away from home.  I get pleasure in thinking about all of the stuff I have recorded that I can watch whenever I want.  This is kind of disturbing to some of you but I have never denied my love and addiction for television.  I have even chosen it for my career.   And it’s not just TV, it’s movies also.  I watch several movies per week.  I have been a member of Netflix for 5 years now. 

Perhaps I love love TV so much because my sister and I were latchkey children that were not allowed to play outside when we were home alone.  That left watching TV and reading and I overindulged in both.  There have been periods of my life in which I watched no TV at all but that was mostly during college when I only had time for class, work, and drinking.  And then as I got older and stopped drinking daily, I got back to my old habits of watching TV regularly.  I am hoping that soon, the newness of the DVR will wear off and I can get back to my normal routine of writing a least a few times a week. 

Entry filed under: addiction.

It’s that time again introducing myself to my mother

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kim  |  October 4, 2006 at 12:12 am

    i’ve had tivo for a few years and i feared it would increase the hours per week i watched tv. not the case. actually, half of the stuff i record, i never watch. but, i will say this, it’s no fun when there are two shows you want to watch, same time, same night and you can only record one. my tivo doesn’t allow me to watch one and record another. sigh…i need an upgrade.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2006
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,486 hits