My Addiction

July 13, 2006 at 4:24 am 3 comments

Like most people in the world, I too, have an addiction. It’s not nicotine, alcohol, or cocaine. My drug is information. I am compulsively looking things up and before the internet, I used books. I have hundreds of reference books that I just can’t seem to part with. Not books like the encycopedia britannica. Mine are more obscure. Here are the titles of a few of them:

The Dictionary of Symbols
The History of Magic
The Encyclopedia of Ghosts and Spirits
The Dictionary of Theories
The Chronicles of Crime
The Encyclopedia of American Scandal
The Hiphoptionary
The Dictionary of American Slang
Naughty Shakespeare
The Dictionary of Urban Legends
Paul Harvey The Rest of the Story

It goes on and on and on. I can’t stop!!

I can’t stand the thought of not being able to find something out immediately. Never do I use just one source. Oh no, I spend hours looking through books and on the internet until I feel like I am completely educated on whatever it is I am looking for. And beware if you happen to be sitting in the same room with me at the time because then you become completely educated on the subject as well.

It’s very possible that if my brain is not constantly stimulated it could just shut down. I have been this way as long as I can remember. I read a whole set of encyclopedias cover to cover in the 3rd grade. They were kids encyclopedias but there were 23 of them. Then I got hooked on jigsaw puzzles, atari, nintendo, computer games, crosswords, but not playstation because i won’t let myself go near one because I can’t spend any more nights of my life dreaming about playing a video game after spending 8 hours playing it. I never go anywhere without a book or magazine. The thought of sitting idle for more than about 3 minutes is unfathomable. I even listen to audiobooks at work. There has to be something to this. I am also a fidgeter and a nail biter. Do you think my brain is on some kind of speed without me knowing about it? I guess it could be doing worse things.

I think that’s all for now because there is yet another question for me to ponder. Can I live without the internet?

Entry filed under: addiction.

My first blog. Afraid to Publish

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. trancefixed  |  July 13, 2006 at 10:01 pm

    To live without the Internet is physically possible, but when you’ve been bitten by the Internet bug, you have a void in your life that only the Internet can fill.

    The Internet becomes and extention of yourself, something which is even more noticable in it’s absence such as during a power cut.

    If you’re really curious, go cold turkey for a week…

    Reply
  • 2. kim  |  July 16, 2006 at 3:50 am

    my dear, you know i can relate—i’m one of those sick people sitting in a room listening to conversation and if someone can’t think of a book title, film title, etc…i will google it…because it is simply not possible to let the moment pass without knowing the answer. grrrr. i can’t imagine life before google. i’m a fidgeter as well, i am trying to just breathe and be every once in a while…it’s not easy!

    Reply
  • 3. Silasknox  |  July 19, 2006 at 4:08 pm

    I just wanted to post a comment to see if I could. I can’t comment on Sara’s without getting “surf controlled.” Stupid stupid surf control.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2006
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,486 hits