Age anxiety

August 3, 2006 at 6:27 pm 2 comments

Lately, I have been experiencing age anxiety and trying to decide if the root of this is that I’m not as young as I used to be or that I’m not as cool as I used to be. I have never had a problem getting older, in fact I love my birthday, I always try and celebrate but I have just started to realize that I have moved on to a different era of my life. I am no longer drinking every night, staying out until 4, getting only three hours sleep each night, leaving my house to go out at midnight. And sometimes I wish I still could do that, but it’s not appropriate at my age or physically possible. Even if I didn’t care what everyone else thinks, it just wouldnt’feel appropriate. Sometimes I just miss my 20’s. I am 32 years old and I just don’t feel as cool as I used to feel. I just noticed that I use the word “just” a lot, I wonder if I do that in conversation as well. Back to my age anxiety, something that has really contributed to this is that a year and a half ago, I moved over 2000 miles away from my family and friends and this is not temporary. I will only be going back for very special occasions and sometimes funerals. I will live my life missing many family trips, weddings, and parties that I wish I could attend. I will probably even miss some funerals. Some people in my family will make me feel guilty for leaving and there will probably come a time when it is held against me but I wasn’t running away, I was just trying to live my life. My new life or my new era is in Santa Monica, CA where the weather is perfect. It gets 325 days of sunshine a year. It is clean and nice. and usually in the 70’s no matter what month it is. I have met a lot of new people and experienced a lot of incredible things, but sometimes it seems so bizarre that I am no longer in TN. So in a way, this is about getting older but it’s also about change. I am not old but I am over thirty and I have to say, it’s your 30’s when you really start to figure out how the world works, but at the same time, you’re nowhere near figuring out how you yourself work. It’s so weird how life just happens! How so many people live their lives a certain way because they get stuck. It really is all about making money. How many people are in bad marriages/relationships, apartments, etc. because they can’t afford to leave? It’s your 30’s when you really start to get scared because you’re not where you imagined that you would be at this age.  At least I don’t want kids.  I couldn’t imagine the added stress I would be under if my clock started ticking.  I am enjoying my new era but sometimes I miss the old era.  I guess we all do. Now, I’m wondering, can I live without coffee?

Entry filed under: being over 30.

Afraid to Publish Happy B-day PC

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barton Smith  |  August 26, 2006 at 12:19 pm

    i too have become reflective and introspective (especially with my big 40 on its way). my home base is not the same (friends have moved away, married, had children and my boyhood home will now be inhabited by strangers). i am reminded daily just how time flies away from us and we can only try our best to catch fading glimpses of what passes before our eyes. new frienships have occurred (one very special) and, along with very old friends, are there to comfort me as i deal with the changes that are occurring inside and outside of me. it is the love i have recieved from these people which gives me comfort and peace in the midst of the storms of time and change. some say you can’t go home again? i say home is where the heart is and it is what’s in our hearts that will sustain us in this dynamic and daunting world.

    Reply
  • 2. Jeanne (Snyder) Pritchard  |  September 4, 2006 at 2:16 pm

    This is very interesting to me as well, especially since I just turned 37 with no anxiety about it all. I don’t think we have anxiety over aging, I think it is about the anxiety of our worlds really, really changing. I have started my life over 4 times now since turning 17, so I realized at a pretty early age that the world can change in a moments notice, without any warning. Some of these changes were horrific, some wonderful and some both of these. It’s no wonder we have such anxiety as our mortality and responsibilities grow more and more with each passing day. I would not however, and unfortunately, change any of my four life changing events because that would have given me no maturity, accountability, or the consideration of each and every human being no matter what the differences or similarities they may have with me. I enjoy life more because of the good, bad and ugly events of the past, along with the anxiety of what may come next.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2006
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 2,486 hits